The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration
HIV/AIDS Programs

A-Z Index  |  Questions? 

The HAB website will experience a temporary service outage on Saturday, July 2, 2016 for scheduled server maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience.
  • Print this
  • Email this

SPNS Initiative: Targeted Peer Support Model Development for Caribbeans Living with HIV/AIDS Demonstration Project, 2003-2007

Background

The Special Projects of National Significance (SPNS) initiative "Targeted Peer Support Model Development for Caribbeans Living with HIV/AIDS" demonstration project sought to evaluate community-based peer programs that served people living with HIV who are of Caribbean origin.  Systemic barriers based on cultural beliefs and stigma prevent persons of Caribbean origin living with HIV from learning their HIV status and accessing care. The Academy for Educational Development served as the Evaluation and Support Center for the initiative, developing and implementing a multi-site evaluation to assess the peer support interventions implemented by five demonstration sites. These demonstration project grant recipients included: Brookdale University Hospital and Medical Center (Brooklyn, NY); Community Healthcare Network, (New York, NY); Lutheran Medical Center (Brooklyn, NY); University of Miami (Miami, FL); and Montefiore Medical Center (Bronx, NY).

Journal Articles

Thomas L, Clarke T, & Kroliczak A. Implementation of Peer Support Demonstration Project for HIV+ Caribbean Immigrants: A Descriptive Paper. Journal of Immigrant & Refugee Studies, 2008; 6 (4): 526 - 544. Publisher's Abstract


Rodriguez AE, Metsch LR, Saint-Jean G, Molina EG, & Kolber MA. Differences in HIV-Related Hospitalization Trends Between Haitian-Born Blacks and US-Born Blacks. Journal of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndromes, August 15, 2007; 45 (5): 529-534. PubMed Abstract.

Part F - SPNS Resources

Part F - SPNS Products and Publications

About SPNS

Products from SPNS Initiatives

TARGET Center Resource Exit Disclaimer

iHiP Exit Disclaimer

SPNS Staff

Adan Cajina
Branch Chief
acajina@hrsa.gov
301-443-3180

Pamela Belton
Public Health Analyst
pbelton@hrsa.gov
301-443-4461

Renetta Boyd
Public Health Analyst
rboyd@hrsa.gov
301-443-4549

Johanna Goderre
Health Scientist
JGoderreJones@hrsa.gov
301-443-7874

John Hannay
Public Health Analyst
jhannay@hrsa.gov
301-443-0678

Chau Nguyen
Public Health Analyst
cnguyen1@hrsa.gov
301-443-5785

Natalie Solomon
Public Health Analyst
nsolomon@hrsa.gov
301-443-7753

Melinda Tinsley
Public Health Analyst
mtinsley1@hrsa.gov
301-443-3496

Jessica Xavier
Health Scientist
jxavier@hrsa.gov
301-443-0833